Bob Dylan in Mexico City

We all have dreams, don’t we? Some of them come true… others remain unrequited fantasies. One of mine has always been to see Bob Dylan perform live. As I live in Mérida, Yucatán, México… it didn’t seem too likely that this would ever become a checked-off item on my personal bucket list. I couldn’t see the local booking agency managing to talk him into a gig at Siglo XXI or Estadio Kukulkan

But miracle of miracles…  I am headed to Mexico City to see Bob Dylan at the Pepsi Center on May 12th. When I learned about the upcoming concert, Jorge said, “You could go for your birthday…” I threw myself into his arms. “Thank you, thank you, thank you,” was all I could say; then I called a friend who is also a Dylan fan from way back when and she and I are OK to go!

There’s no point playing like I’m cool… like I’m taking this in stride… I am over-the-top excited. I have searched every website on the web and have yet to find the playlist. I am hoping that Lay Lady Lay or Just Like a Woman will be included. I have  great m-e-m-o-r-i-e-s attached to those two, let me tell you. The icing on the cake would be to actually get backstage and meet Mr. Dylan. Yes (ever the optimist) I have sent in a request to the official website…Yes, I know it’s a super long shot… but why not try?

Obsessed about this as I am… I promise not to blog every day about the upcoming concert … but be sure you will hear all about it post-event. Are any other readers going?

11 Comments

Filed under Destinations

11 responses to “Bob Dylan in Mexico City

  1. korn12

    I’ve seen dylan 3 times: in ’81, in san francisco, at the iowa state fair sometime in the 90s and in austin 6 or 7 years ago. the first time was the best. john kirsch

    • Yes they say the first time is the best in lots of situations… Bob Dylan in Mexico City was not the Bob Dylan I fell in love with from listening to Nashville Skyline… but I still love him. I’m so glad I went to that concert

  2. What a supportive hubby you have! You’re fortunate indeed.

    It’s interesting, isn’t it– why we choose our “favorite songs.” Dylan’s songs sure impacted me a lot as well, but not his own renditions. My own favorite Dylan’s are those performed by Joan Baez and Peter Paul and Mary.

    Have a great viaje!

  3. Jade

    Lucky you two! You will enjoy Dylan so much! Vladimir and I saw his concert two years ago and we thoroughly enjoyed it! ( and we didn’t mind that our daughter got us free tickets !)LOL! The guy is so COOL! Enjoy! XJade

    • Oh I agree… it is very exciting to be going. I don’t care what he sings (although I have hopes…) I am just so looking forward to being there.

      • Thanks Alinde… you’re right I am lucky to have Jorge… Bob Dylan has always been “my wild card” When I feel like I don’t want to conform or accept something being laid on me, it is his music I listen to. In my youth… that happened a lot and a taste for his nasal twang with a snarl underlying it has never left me.

  4. Well, I hope you have a fantastic time at the concert. Just remember to carry a camera with you and take some nice pictures at the concert and also of Mexico City. I have heard that the Mexico City is really charming. I’ll be looking forward to hearing all about your trip.

    • The website says no cameras allowed, but my cell phone… maybe? Anyway my seat is so far away from the stage, Mr. Dylan will be but a dot… However there will be the big screens…. Anyway, just being there will be very cool.

  5. Ken

    Some girls have all the luck and I am so happy you are one of them! I know you will have a wonderful time and look forward to hearing all about it. Be sure to let us know if you get backstage passes and have the opportunity to meet him! His music is legend and I am sure he will perform those songs … just for you. Have fun!

  6. Pingback: Bob Dylan in Mexico City | WRITING FROM MERIDA | Mexico Discovery

Leave a Reply

