Goodness

July 8, 2010

 

I try not to get too sentimental when I write for this blog but sometimes to deny doing so is to type a lie. For two hours, I’ve been wracking my brain trying to compose something… but my mind is full of warm and fuzzy feelings and nothing else seems to be coming through. (I hope I haven’t lost you with that last sentence) If you read to the end of this posting, maybe you’ll feel a little like I do… So, stay with me.

I am truly happy because today, goodness swirled all around me… (Come on… don’t click me away)

I saw this generosity in two women who gave me their time just because they could see I needed help. A few months ago, without realizing what they were getting into, they offered to share in the responsibility for a project that is very important. With their support, results are being seen and felt in a community that previously seemed totally depressed.

That same giving spirit was shown today by four others who had been influenced by the first two’s example.

I witnessed similar traits in a man who acted with such patience and understanding towards his employees. I had been told by others that he’s like this but today I saw it for myself. This same guy showed generosity towards me too and I’m grateful.

I saw a cab driver actually slow down so as not to make a huge wave that would soak a pedestrian… he missed the green light for having done so but he didn’t look as though it bothered him.

As the rain continued to pour down, I noticed a young woman subtly move her umbrella over… so it would also cover the person who stood next to her in line.

Five vignettes. I won’t keep on but I observed many similar incidents today. Why is it that when I’ve had an awful day, I am not at all shy about saying, “If you could only imagine how rotten…” Yet when I have joy to share, I feel embarrassed to do so? Do I think I will make the less fortunate feel badly because they aren’t experiencing the same thing as me? This is not my intention at all…

We are often critical of the press for only passing on sensational, dramatic or disastrous news. But really, we do the same thing. I want to point out that our days do not have to be full of negativity.  Positivism is all around us… we only have to sit up and look for it.

If you’d like to comment on this, please do so…

I hope that today will be filled with goodness for you…

* Pictures: Mine and from Google Images

*******************************

4 Comments

Filed under Family and Friends

4 responses to “Goodness

  1. Mary Moore

    Hi Joanna,
    I too enjoyed your positive, feel-good post. If the mainstream media won’t do it, it’s up to us to spread the joy and good news. There’s plenty of it around if we just stop to take it in, as your post demonstrates so well.
    Thanks, Mary

  2. Larry

    Thank you Joanna! I am with you 100%! We can always find things to be happy about and so grateful for…. every day! When we send postive energy, loving thoughts, feelings of gratitude and empathy and compassion into the universe to enfold our fellow humans, we are making a difference and helping to heal our planet. We are all one race…..the human race.

    Have a great day! You certainly have made a difference in mine today!

    Hugs, Larry

  3. Please don’t leave us hanging! “…without realizing what they were getting into, they offered to share in the responsibility for a project that is very important. With their support, results are being seen and felt in a community that previously seemed totally depressed.”

    What were they “getting into”? What “project” and why is it “very important”? And what “results are being seen and felt”? Do let us have some specifics!

    • Thanks for your interest, Allison. I will do a progress report on the Santa Elena Sustainable Development project for tomorrow’s blog. For Larry… you make a difference in my life every single day! Mary, I appreciate your comments very much.

Leave a Reply

