A laugh for you today…

August 26, 2010

A laugh for you today…

I don’t often see jokes posted on blogs but this is a good one! And I can tell it because I have actually been to one of these “events”with my mom … (of course this did NOT happen at the one I went to…)

The Catholic Women’s Action League has an annual spiritual retreat. This event is usually attended by delegates from many parishes in the nation. Few of them know one another and at breakfast on the first morning, the spokeswoman says to all, “Come now Sisters in Christ, introduce yourselves to the others at your table.”

At one of the tables there were four wary women and no one wanted to speak first. Finally , one of the ladies addressed her three companions, “Well none of you know me but I am Mrs. Caplan and my son is a priest. Whenever he comes into a room the people all rise and say, “Oh Father!”

Everyone nodded and then a second lady said, “Pleased to meet you Mrs. Caplan; I am Mrs. Marshall and my son is a bishop; when he comes into a room, all the people rise and say, “Oh your Excellency!”

The third woman cut right in… Mrs. Caplan, Mrs. Marshall; I am Mrs Winslow and my son is a Cardinal. Whenever he comes into a room, all the people rise and say, “Oh Your Eminence!”

All eyes are on the fourth sister in Christ. Wanting to look her best, Sra García had tied her hair into a tight chignon and she put on the grey suit her mother-in-law had said was “appropriate.” Now though in the company of these three, she put  her elbows on the table and leaning forward she said, “my son is 6 foot- two… hard-bodied and he’s a stripper. When he comes into a room all the people rise and say, “Oh My God!”

” Image from Google Clip Art

2 Comments

Filed under Family and Friends

2 responses to “A laugh for you today…

  1. to cute – are you sure your mom didn’t tell you that one?!
    Debi

  2. Heeeheee…very cute.

    regards,
    Theresa

Leave a Reply

