Who-da’ thunk?

September 10, 2010

Who-da’ thunk?

I haven’t written on this blog for a week. I’ve been so completely tied up with the editing of my new book that I’ve barely made time for meals or sleep but… I can eat and sleep when the job is done – right?

Fortunately, things continue to go swimmingly and Magic Made in México will be released on November 20th of this year.

But on Wednesday evening,  I did take a few hours off to attend an awards banquet that honored one of my long-time friends, Michelle Byrne de Rodriguez. Michelle was presented with the “heart of gold” for 2010 by the Yucatan chapter of the Association of Mexican Business Women and Entrepreneurs.  For the past 10 years, Michelle has been the Red Cross delegate for the State of Yucatan.

Michelle and I first met when we were both newly arrived in Merida. You know my story… well, Michelle met her husband while she was floating in the sea  off Isla Mujeres. An Australian by birth, Michelle was part of the crew on a sailboat that arrived from the USA and hubby, Oswaldo certainly saw “gold” when he laid eyes on her.

Michelle moved to Merida and we spent many laughing days together (and many a teary day too!) We knew each other “back when”…  in the “good old days”…  We could not imagine that we two happy hippy-chicks, new to México, would  morph into two señoras.

It’s fun to look back at those “good old days.” At that time, we depended on each other as sisters do and although we don’t see one another as often as we used to, we both know the other is just a phone call away. Life takes funny turns but if we follow the winds, we always end up… just where we’re supposed to be!

And who-da’ thunk, we’d be here?

Congratulations my friend… we are so proud of you!

1 Comment

Filed under Vida Latina, Writing

One response to “Who-da’ thunk?

  1. Marie

    I remember Michelle from when I lived in Merida, she is a remarkable woman and please extend my congratulations to her for a very well deserved recognition.

Leave a Reply

