Nose to the Grindstone

September 20, 2010

Nose to the Grindstone…  

Glued to the computer is where I’ve been this past month. Every day – almost all day has been spent editing my book. I don’t know if I ever had an idea of what this process would be like but I didn’t dream it would be basically re-writing the book… again… and again… and again!

There are so many details. Of course one wants the story to flow along nicely. But for that to actually happen, every sentence and paragraph need to be endlessly revised. The font is important as is the spacing. If there are to be any pictures (in my book there are) these must be chosen, sized and formatted. My editor David Wise Bodwell of Editorial Mazatlán is very experienced and insists we work until the book is as perfect as it can possibly be. I am grateful for his dedication and I’m sure he’s as glad as me that we are rapidly approaching the end of our revisions… 

MAGIC MADE IN MEXICO  will be released in early December of this year. It will be available in selected book stores and libraries, through Amazon.com  and there will be an eBook version as well. I have written “MAGIC” for those who are considering a move to México and for those who have already relocated here.  For my friends who have lived in México for “unos años”… reading  the book will be like a trip down Memory Lane.

The three main sections are almost three different books.

In the first, “Joanna’s Story”, you will read about how I met Jorge, the man who would become my husband and how I moved to México to be with him. That happened almost 35 years ago and in the process I became part of the magic that encompasses this corner of the world.

“The Alphabet,” the second chapter of the book helps readers to understand many of the cultural shocks they might experience or are already experiencing.  It features anecdotes and practical tips that will increase your appreciation of the unique culture and customs of México…from A to Z.

The third part, “Our Country,” is a condensed history of México (and the Yucatán). I believe that learning about the past is important because it increases our understanding of present-day México. 

(This is NOT our wedding picture… it was taken at our college’s Valentines Day Fair. The students all said that Jorge and I looked like newly-weds)

A brief account of how my husband and I started our college in Mérida and a Recommended Reading list are both found at the end of the book.

Over the past few weeks, Jorge , my friends and family have been very patient but they too are going to breathe a sigh of relief when I am once again part of their world. I thank my Writing From Mérida regular readers for continuing to check in to see what’s new… never fear, I’ll soon be back to posting daily.

4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to “Nose to the Grindstone

  1. So nice to “meet” you last night through email. I’m looking forward to the release of your book!

  2. I know what you mean about editing. I’m taking a course on revising and editing and now realize the process may take as long as writing the dang book! Hang in there!
    Rainie

Leave a Reply

