Magic Made in Mexico

What do you think of the cover of my new book?

Magic Made in Mexico  will be released on December 4th of this year and to start with, will be available in Merida at Amate Books and the Merida English Language Library. The book will also be for sale on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and as an eBook for Kindle users.

To say I am thrilled is an exaggerated understatement (there’s an oxymoron for you!)

In 2007, I self published my first travel-memoir called Tomando Agua de Pozo – A Neophyte’s Guide to Yucatan. The copies sold out quickly and since then I have been repeatedly asked to do a second printing. I did not think there was much point in reprinting and decided I would re-write. This gave me the chance to add a lot that I wished I’d included the first time… and to remove a few pieces I wished I’d left out!

I was extremely lucky to catch the interest of “Editorial Mazatlan” (and as they say…) the rest is history!

The new book is quite different to the first one. To start with, it touches on more of Mexico’s customs, foods, and history than the first one did. There is about 60% new content, so even those who have a copy of Tomando Agua de Pozo will get a lot of useful information from Magic Made in Mexico.

Magic Made in Mexico vividly describes the country and explains its nuances. This information will increase your comfort on many levels. It will allow you to see the humor, revel in the wonder and at the same time, realistically examine the challenges that moving to Mexico has brought (or will bring to you.) The book consists of three main sections—each almost a book in itself! It also features a condensed account of how my husband and I started our own business in México.

To further increase your enjoyment and knowledge, a suggested reading list provides the names of other informative and interesting books about the country.  I’m certain that Magic Made in Mexico will validate some of the doubts you may have and at the same time, will strengthen your resolve to forge a new path and build a completely different, exciting life for yourself.

I feel lucky to live here. Although I love the country of my birth, in this one I feel more alive. For me, moving to México was like waking up from a long sleep. Such a change…at any age…is a very good thing!

 

22 Comments

Filed under Vida Latina, Writing

22 responses to “Magic Made in Mexico

  1. Love the cover with the warm colors and the pathway leading to one’s dreams. Great Job! Can’t wait to actually feel one in my hot little hands!
    Rainie

  2. Deanna Lagroix

    The cover is gorgeous and I’ll be anxious to have my own copy when I get down there, to get “the rest of the story”! Wish I could be there on the 4th. Congratulations!
    Deanna

  3. Hola, Joanna: Finally made it to a cybercafe with a keyboard that doesn’t drive me nuts. Got to see your book here. Looks very snazzy. I congratulate you. It’s fun to see your name in lights, so to speak.

  4. Barb

    omgosh! I so wish I could be there on the 4th. We’ll be in Progreso in Nov, leaving on the 29th. I’ll just miss you. Amazon, it is.

    Love the cover. The colours, the intimacy of the walkway and the intrigue of what lies hidden behind the doorway.

  5. Janice K

    Wow! Your cover is stunning! Can’t wait to read and see you all. Heading home to Merida the week of Nov. 15th.

  6. The cover is lovely, archway enticing one in and up, add to that the warm rich colors of mexico.
    Beatiful! You do have my copy reserved don’t you?

    can’t wait – Dec 4 is coming up so quickly

    abrazos
    Debi

  7. Muchas Felicidades, Joanna! I will be giving many as Christmas gifts, let’s see, my Mom, sister, aunt, PR lady in N.Y….let me know where I have to go to pick them up.

    Un abrazote, Tina

  8. Congratulations— this is a very inviting cover! That richly gorgeous color makes me think of strawberry-mamey licuados, my favorite. Warmest wishes with this, Joanna, I know your book will find many enthusiastic readers!

    • Catherine, thank you for your kind comment. I look very forward to your workshop at the San Miguel Writers’ Conference in February. What I learned from you at last year’s event has been invaluable.

  9. Loretta

    You are right, the cover is lovely. Dec. 4, Wow! I’m so excited, you’d think it was my book. I so wish I could be there for the launch party. I will be, in spirit.
    Kudos
    Buena suerte
    con mucho carino

    Loretta

  10. Valerie Pickles

    Congratulations Joanna Im sure it will be a best seller. Cant wait for its release.
    Valerie

  11. Another winner Joanna…congratulations. I love the cover with its archways and the colour is amazing…I can hardly wait to have one in my hands…sharon

Leave a Reply

