Dad and Daffodils



Today marks the 29th anniversary of the day I travelled to see my dad for what I thought would be the very last time. I was expecting my son Carlos and remember how torn I felt. A new life was growing inside me and an old one I loved was about to leave this earth.

As it turned out, I was given the gift of one more visit with Dad. Modern medicine intervened and he was able to see my beautiful baby and kiss us both good bye.

Today, I can’t get his favorite poem out of mind… He once told me he recited it thousands of times while enlisted in the Canadian army during World War II… imagine? Although most of you didn’t know John Robert vdG, I think you’ll agree that a man who loved this particular poem… must have been quite a guy.

He was.

Daffodils

William Wordsworth

I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle on the milky way,
They stretched in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

The waves beside them danced; but they
Out-did the sparkling waves in glee:
A poet could not but be gay,
In such a jocund company:
I gazed – and gazed – but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought:

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

This beautiful photo comes courtesy of Google Images

4 Comments

Filed under Family and Friends

4 responses to “Dad and Daffodils

  1. Kris

    Thanks. I love your blog, and check it often, finding many gems I enjoy.
    It strikes me that the tribute to your father has come at the time when I
    recently read one from another blogger on Isla Mujeres, also from Canada.
    Her father recently passed away, and you both have written beautiful
    tributes in memory to your fathers. Her blog is Dentro de Jardin. -kris

  2. Mary E. Moore

    What a lovely image to keep of your Dad, Joanna. We too love that poem. The poem and the photo and your tender post lift our hearts this morning.
    Mary and Joe

Leave a Reply

