Two Nights Before Christmas

TWO NIGHTS BEFORE CHRISTMAS                                         

Adapted by Joanna…

‘Twas two nights before Christmas, and here at our house

Our cat saw a bigger prize than a mouse.

Hobbes smelled something avian, delectable and rare

 It seemed to emanate from right over there!

No one was around but they weren’t in their beds,

The “to do” list, still spun in their heads.

At any moment, disaster could befall

But he felt that meat was worth risking it all,

And at that very moment, there arose such a clatter,

All ran to the kitchen, to see what was the matter.

Away to the corner Hobbes flew like a flash,

And ran through the cat door with his yummy stash.

The turkey was not on the table – oh no!

 It now laid in a heap, on the floor below.

How did this happen? It was immediately clear –  

For paw prints on the floor did obviously appear.

That twelve year old cat, still lively and quick,

Had brazenly jumped up and taken his pick

Of the succulent pieces we might have ate.

Maggie turned and shouted, “He’s broken the plate!”

I want to resolve this situation

But turkey with china shards, is beyond salvation!

Into the garbage can behind the wall!

I throw away! throw away! throw away all!”

As tempers tend to do, mine did fly,

Out of its confines and up into the sky.

Bad words and curses towards that cat flew,

In a fit of anger I even threw my shoe!

And then, in a twinkling, I heard at the door

Hobbes calling me with a lion-like roar.

As I drew in my head, and was turning around,

 In came that cheeky cat with a bound.

Turkey grease on his fur, from his head to his tail…

That silly kitty thought justice would not prevail!

I could see the evidence when he rolled on his back,

His fat belly protruded like a big, full sack.

His eyes — how they twinkled! His purring seemed merry!

I was not much amused. Well… not very!

His droll little mouth was drawn up like a bow,

And evidence on his whiskers led me to know;

Any trace of doubt had disappeared for good,

“Oh I could strangle you – I really could!”

But the look on his face and his little round belly,

Turned my vengeance to a big bowl of jelly.

So contented and plump, like a fat Christmas elf,

And I laughed as I watched him, in spite of myself;

A wink of his eye and a twist of his head,

Soon gave me to know we’d all been led…

To the magic of Christmas, when old rules don’t apply

When forgiveness trumps anger… I said with a sigh,

“Oh Hobbes you’re a thief,

But you’ve restored my once-lost belief.

Yes, we can find humor, no matter what happens,

And we must not let adversity dampen

Our love, our peace and our joy and delight.”

Hobbes closed his green eyes and he rolled up tight,


“Happy Christmas to all, and to all a good-night.” 

8 Comments

Filed under Family and Friends

8 responses to “Two Nights Before Christmas

  1. Sharon Wright

    Hi From Collingwood

    Just wanted to let you know that I made your spagetti for dinner tonight here in Collingwood http://www.google.ca/images?hl=en&q=Blue+Mountain+Resort&source=og&sa=N&tab=li&biw=1020&bih=395

    And also to tell you that I am hoping to meet you in the new year! I have been following your blog for some time and made the decision to make Merida my home when I retire to the Yucatan in January. Arrive in Merida on the 12th and am hoping to make new friends among the expat community. I know no one at the moment so this will be quite the adventure.

    Thanks for your due diligence with the blog…it has been much appreciated…and the recipe enjoyed by the whole family!

    Kindest Regards

    Sharon

    • Hi Sharon… I’m glad you enjoyed the spaghetti… When you arrive in Merida you’ll find lots of clubs, places and volunteer groups where you’ll meet people. The Merida English Language Library on Calle 53 Between 66 & 68 is a great place to start. You’re so right to call your new step an adventure… it will be just that! I’m glad you like the blog… I look forward to meeting you after the 12th. Have a safe journey…

  2. Larry

    Again, I’ll say this
    Yes, I’ll say it again,
    You have reminded us gently
    What this season means profoundly
    “Tis the gifts of love, kindness,
    That we give to one another
    Hallelujah! Amen!
    Thank you Joanna for another wonderful story!

    Feliz Navidad!

    Larry

  3. But the cat came back the very next day,
    The cat came back, we thought he was a goner
    But the cat came back; it just couldn’t stay away.
    Away, away, yea, yea, yea

    Merry Christmas Joanna & Jorge…and you too Hobbes!

  4. glenna copeland

    Just finished your book “Magic Made in Mexico” What a delightful love story, but more importantly….thanks for helping those of us who enjoy traveling in MX be more sensitive to the culture. gracias

  5. Patricia Mathisen

    Dear Joanna,

    Your “Two Nights Before Christmas” couldn’t have been better timed! I’ve allowed a series of mishaps and bad luck (Snow closing down Heathrow is preventing a dear friend from coming to share a long planned first Christmas in Merida with me, my “bomba” burned out and I’ve had no water for a couple of days, and an FM3 problem has separated me from my furniture and household goods for far too long, etc.) to put me in a far less than festive mood, but reading your piece brought the realization that these are not “end of the world” problems and that I am actually one of the luckiest people in the world—I have been given the gift of living in a sun soaked world full of joyous, kind, gracious and truly generous people who are bringing back to me a level of the spirit of Christmas which I don’t think I’ve felt since I was a child.

    Thank you for the reminder Joanna, and thank you, Merida!

    Patricia Mathisen

  6. Mary E. Moore

    How wonderfully clever, Joanna!
    A happy Christmas to all of you, including fat-bellied Hobbes!
    Mary, Joe, and Celia

    • Dear Mary, Joe and Celia… I wish you all a Merry Christmas and happy walks, good writing and pleasing painting in the New Year.

      Hi Glenna, I am really glad to know that Magic Made in Mexico was enjoyable… Your comment made my day. Merry Christmas!

      And Patricia… as you’ve already figured out, this too will pass. Soon you’ll have your belongings with you and good friends too. Feliz Navidad

      Hey Bob, Yes Hobbes came back… he’s actually purring away on a little rug beside me. It’s a good thing he won’t get near the spaghetti you’re going to prepare for Christmas dinner! Have a good one.

      Dearest Larry… What a special friend you are… I know a lovely Christmas is in store for you and Reg!

Leave a Reply

