Books I love…

What would the world be like without books?  Wars have been fought that conserved our rights to read whatever we want… and thank God the good guys won!

For me, books are an escape valve, they are my teachers, a substitute for a sleeping pill and mesmerizing sirens that keep me from doing really, really important stuff. From time to time, I do read history, political essays, classics, biographies and poetry. But I must confess, most of my “best friends” are novels that transport me to another time, usually a romantic one. They tell tales that I can relate to… or wish I could relate to… or am glad I don’t have to relate to.

I have books everywhere. Office, car, purse…  But in my room, I have a cabinet with glass doors and that’s where I keep some of my favorites… Although I read most of them quite some time ago, I just like having them around. Which titles are in my bookshelf right now?

Sixteen Pleasures    Robert Hellenga

The Poisonwood Bible    Barbara Kingsolver

A Thousand Days in Venice    Marlene di Blasi

The Secret Life of Bees    Sue Monk Kidd                                                                                                                                                                

Stones for Ibarra     Harriet Doer

The Lady and the Unicorn    Tracy Chevalier

Year of Wonder   Geraldine Brooks

Waiting      Ha Jin

The Kitchen God’s Wife    Amy Tan

Mexico: A Traveler’s Literary Companion   Edited by CM Mayo

Tell me what your favorite books are? Why are they your favorites?

***Have you looked at my other blog? Visit:  http://magicmadeinmexico.wordpress.com You’ll find information about my book “Magic Made in Mexico”

8 Comments

Filed under Writing

8 responses to “Books I love…

  1. Deanna Lagroix

    One of my very favourite books is UNLESS by (the late) Carol Shields, published in ’02. It is one of the 5 books being debated by the CBC radio,in February, (Canada Reads) as a must-read by every Canadian!

  2. Joanne

    I just reread “To Kill A Mockingbird” at my daughter’s suggestion. It still is a wonderful book.

    Of your list, I have read about half of them and loved them. Right now I am reading “The Wife’s Tale” by Lori Lansens and also “The Bishop’s Man” by Linden MacIntyre. I’m not sure what I think of them yet, though.

  3. Thanks for such an interesting list, Joanna. I’ve only read STONES FOR IBARRA but I’ll check out the others.

    At first, I found it difficult to select my “favorite” books. But then I realized–I have two books which I buy repeatedly, in order to have a “back-up” as well as to give to other people.

    So here goes: I believe my all time favorite is: HOPE FOR THE FLOWERS/
    ESPERANZA PARA LAS FLORES, by Trina Paulis. Amazon sells it, and has my review there. This is a rare book indeed, for it is stimulating to practically all ages, never seems to lose it’s message, and is now printed in many languages.

    My second choice is: HEALING: A JOURNAL OF TOLERANCE AND UNDERSTANDING by Muhammad Ali and Thomas Hauser– a book of brief quotations; I can pick this up and gain insight and hope, repeatedly, year after year.

    My favorite books are nourishing, continually, over many years.

    But I’ll add three more to the list: these are books I could not stop reading until I was finished. (No, not 24/7, but I had to finish these before beginning another.)

    ALEX AND ME, by Irene M. Pepperberg; (about a Scientist and her African Grey Parrot.)

    INTROVERT POWER, by Laurie Helgoe, Ph.D. (about how an introvert can better cope with the expectations of an extravert-oriented world.)

    And your book, Joanna–MAGIC MADE IN MEXICO. (a love story, a book about adaptation, and so much more.)

    All three of these recent favorites I’d describe as educational and/or self-help books which address so many of the problems and adventures I am myself addressing, right now.

  4. Loretta

    Seems I’ve read all but one or two of the books on your shelf — some you loaned to me! couldn’t agree more on your splendid taste. May I suggest “Half Broke Horses” by Jeanette Walls, author of “The Glass Castle”. Uplifting and superbly written. Much love, Loretta

    • Thanks Loretta… Great to hear from you. I’ll look for the titles you suggest… When you lived here, we always shared great books. I miss that, along with lots else!

Leave a Reply

