Final Photos of Mexico City

Here are the final photos of magnificent Mexico City… Tomorrow I’ll tell you all about pretty, pretty Puebla.

Our group felt extremely lucky… After more than a year of reno work, the Bellas Artes Theater had its first presentation of Amalia Hernandez’ ” Balet Folklorico” and we were on hand to see it. The enthusiasm of the dancers was incredible…

What visit to Mexico City is complete without a day at Chapultepec? This is the park’s logo… that’s right it’s a grasshopper…

This gigantic “Tlaloc” the Aztec rain god stands guard over the entrance to the park’s Museum of Anthropology. In 1964, it took four semis to carry monolyth into the city from the small village where it had been unearthed. And although it was in the middle of the dry season, a downour accompanied the move… It is assumed that the rain god was not amused at being relocated!

Jorge says hello to an old friend… this Chac Mool is from Chichen Itza

Ah if it were only true!

Yes, we did see the mariachis in Guadalajara but who could resist a trip to Garibaldi and this fine fellow?

Although it was pretty late for these two, they sure were enthusiastic dancers!

All of us enjoyed the mariachis but…

Jorge and Sergio enjoyed them most!

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under Vida Latina

10 responses to “Final Photos of Mexico City

  1. Yes, the photos are fantastic! I’m having trouble finding a favorite, but I believe the two children laughing and dancing shows so much! Música is such a different language! Even when we don’t always understand the words, something special comes across that no other language quite reflects. In fact, I have some far-fletched beliefs about this –“my iPod is psychic”, for instance. There are favorites from my childhood which have lyrics I still don’t fully understand , literally, but which give me “goosebumps” nonetheless. And finally, I have even forgiven the “sins ” of some of my favorite musicians, precisely because of the music. But other artists, such as some actors, I don’t find as easy to forgive. Maybe music transcends more barriers than other languages?

    • Yes, it was a great night and as you say, music causes goosebumps… for me that usually happens with my favorites from the 60s and early 70s… it seems that what we listen to as teenagers is always the dearest to our hearts. Mind you, after so long in Mexico, I have great fondness for many Latin artists as well… like Alejandro Fernandez… Miguel Bose… Fernando Delgadillo… and quirky Alex Lora!

      • Thanks, Joanna! Bose is also a big favorite of mine; but I was unfamiliar with Delgadillo–so nice to learn about a MODERN Mexican folk-singer. I keep reminding myself of what a woman commented one day as we were watching a store TV presentation of Roberto Carlos. She remarked, with a bit of regret, but acceptance, that “todo cambia.” (Maybe what I’m really is that most newer music leave me cold.)

        I’ve been long interested in the vehicle of music for learning another language. I’m the first to admit that I’m not the best candidate for the traditional learning methods. (My teacher in SF said I was “too analytical.” ) But I remain grateful to her for introducing me to some música–she said I’d like “Los Panchos.” And I sure did! They began my “learn by singing ” efforts, which continue even 30 some years later. I figure, sure–the process might be slower, but for some reason, what I pick up does register more permanently.

        In this vein, I’d like to add: IF (a big “IF”) I had to pick a single CD that has taught me the most Spanish, both linguistic and cultural, it would be “Gracias de la Vida” by Joan Baez. Amazon still sells it. http://www.amazon.com/Gracias-Vida-Joan-Baez/dp/B000006SNG/ref=sr_1_1?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1297714902&sr=1-1 The reviews say so much.

        I also keep following the next site, but I suspect she is overwhelmed with requests. (http://learningbysingingspanish.blogspot.com/)

      • Funny you should mention “Los Panchos” I too learned Spanish by singing along with them and “Me Voy al Pueblo” is still one of my absolutely favorite songs.

  2. Gorgeous photos! I loved the laugh on Jorge’s face, what a great picture of enjoyment. Did he sing along with all the mariachi songs? I know the words to many of them but mainly just the classics. Ah, to be in Garibaldi square for a few hours…

  3. What do you mean, “If it were only true”? You absolutely are an angel.

    I did notice the absence of a halo, though. 😉

  4. What a marvelous trip! Have a great time, but hurry home. We all miss you!

Leave a Reply

