Time

Time… do you have enough of it?

We all need time for family. Time for friends. Time for commitments. Time for housework. Time for garden workTime to work on ourselves. We need time for things like going to the doctor, plucking our eyebrows… all these things take time. It seems so difficult to strike the right balance… Doesn’t it seem that some area of our lives is always screaming for more time. We all have our own strategies for dealing with the time issue.

But most of the time, our efforts are pretty piecemeal. What I do is ration out my time… a little here, a little there, there and there… but I can tell this is not working so well. I always feel pressed for time.

So I’ve decided to take some time off. I am going to take myself out of commission for a while. I am going on retreat for two weeks. A friend of mine did this a couple of years ago and she emerged energized and refreshed.

From April 21 – May 05… I will drop off the face of the earth. No phone calls, no email, no visiting, no social interaction of any kind.

What will I do during this time period?

I am going to take the time to enjoy my garden, swim, walk, paint, listen to music, write and sleep. I will do whatever I want – by myself. I am going to contemplate poems like these:

I have spent my days stringing

and unstringing my instrument

while the song I came to sing

remains unsung.

&

I slept and dreamt that life was joy.

I awoke and saw that life was service.

I acted and behold,

service was

joy.

 

There must be a happy medium between the two, don’t you think? If I find out what it is, I’ll let you know… after May 5th.

Those of you who don’t know me very well may think I am self-indulgent. Those who know me are likely thinking that this will be impossible for me to pull off. Those who have a life similar to mine perhaps wonder if maybe they might try this too…

Time will tell…

16 Comments

Filed under Writing

16 responses to “Time

  1. Nancy Walters

    Bravo!
    My dear friend I am so happy you will do this –I will put it on my calendar.
    If anyone deserves some down time it’s you. Besos y abrazos amiga

  2. Joanna
    It’s called a vacation! You deserve one.

  3. suk

    It will be good one. Enjoy!

  4. Congratulations! No matter what happens, you will have learned something about yourself and what type of “time outs” you need. I wish you well.

    I’ll go back to my Dec 11 posting to your site: https://joannavandergrachtderosado.wordpress.com/2010/12/09/to-write-or-not-to-write…-voila-la-question/ re Introversion.

    You are simply exercising your “Right to Retreat,” and your need is certainly not self-indulgent.

  5. Don’t forget to put a “I’m on vacation” notifier on your email. That way people who email will get an automated reply and understand what is happening.
    I think this is a grand idea. You deserve a break.

    regards,
    Theresa

  6. Hola Joanna,
    After reading your post, I almost feel as if I should send you a “bon voyage” card or something. Gosh – taking off for 2 weeks! Good luck. I can’t imagine doing it, especially the email part, but then again, you have done so many things I can’t imagine doing….all positive, wonderful things.

    On another note, I want to congratulate you on the Santa Elena project. Joanna, you have taught these people to fish, not just given them some fish. I am impressed.

    Hugs, and enjoy your TIME out!

  7. Sounds like the “real deal” Joanna, but if you’re going to do it at home you’ll have to stick to your guns.
    About this time of year with the madness of Semana Santa at a beach town staring me in the face, I sure wish I could do the same thing, but with 3 kids still at home there just isn’t the chance, so I bear with it until mid-summer sometime when it’s REALLY dead.

  8. Congratulations for taking this time for yourself. And when you return, ease back in to your routine. Don’t feel pressured to answer all those e-mails right away. From the looks of the temp in Merida just now, it’s too hot to even type. Enjoy your pool…

Leave a Reply

