Friendship

Where would we be without our friends? The following fictitious text about friendship could have been “written” by a famous person who is much in the news this week. Can you guess who?  Are you like this person?

???

“I enjoy my many friends and acquaintances and I thrive on warmth and companionship. I like adventure and play and am always ready for a good time. I always expect a better, brighter future and I often try to “cheer up” those who are hurting.

Friendship means a great deal to me but I also need a great deal of emotional freedom and mobility.

I get a lot of emotional fulfillment through my involvement in groups, clubs, organizations, community activities, and my net of close friends.  I feel a close affinity with people who share the ideals or beliefs that I hold dear. I need close relationships with people outside of my physical family.

I relate to others on an emotional level, because I feel emotions so strongly myself. I am sensitive to others’ needs and have the ability to create a pleasant atmosphere when I am with another person.

I enjoy socializing, bringing people together and having many friends.  I value friendship very highly but detest jealousy and possessiveness.

I show caring and affection concretely, and I love giving and receiving gifts. I value comfort and elegance very highly and appreciate beautiful things.”

******

4 Comments

Filed under Family and Friends, Vida Latina

4 responses to “Friendship

  1. Hmmmm…Oprah Winfrey??

  2. Dominque Strauss-Kahn?

    “I feel a close affinity with people who share the ideals or beliefs that I hold dear. I need close relationships with people outside of my physical family.

    I relate to others on an emotional level, because I feel emotions so strongly myself…” sounds like him, though “…I am sensitive to others’ needs and have the ability to create a pleasant atmosphere when I am with another person” sounds a bit cynical even from a politician.

Leave a Reply

