Reduce, Recycle, Reuse

We have all heard the catch phrase: “Reduce, Recycle, Reuse.” And we know about doing that with bottles, cans, jars, newspapers… we separate our garbage into organic and non- organic, and try to use water judiciously. But today I found a way to get new jewelry by recycling!

Like me, I’m sure many of you have an old cookie tin or other such container, that is full of necklaces with broken clasps, earrings whose mates have seemingly taken off with “la otra”, as well as pieces that, well… we just don’t like very much. I was looking at all my junky beads and I thought, “Maybe I could make something out of all this?” I took the cookie container of bits and pieces to my friend Patricia and she made me 4 necklace and earrings that match.  WOW! They came out so well.                                                                                                                                                                                                                          

Inspired I looked at the linen drawer, and decided I didn’t need to get rid of my many sets of 7 or 5 napkins because I now like to set different colors all mixed up.

My husband found an innovative use for a whole bunch of little clay dolls that he bought from a gaggle of girls in Chiapas. Don’t they look beautiful displayed in a rustic bowl?

A lot of mismatched and left over tile? We made this shelf along what was an empty wall, It comes in very handy for all sorts of stuff..

And a broken cooking pot makes a wonderful place to grow orchids.

It’s gratifying to me, to see how new treasures can come from resurrecting the old. I think that I’ll let stuff pile up again for now… and just before the Yuletide season, I’ll go through my closets again… I wonder what kind of neat gifts I can fashion from the my recyclable world.

6 Comments

Filed under Family and Friends, Vida Latina

6 responses to “Reduce, Recycle, Reuse

  1. Jan

    Hi from Jan…on our little Gulf Island of 97 acres, we recycle everything by putting what we don’t want any more out on the street….everything from clothes, to reusable household items, to guy stuff for the workshop. It usually takes ten minutes tops for everything to be gone from curbside! My sister-in-law calls these true gifts, an irresistible response as an ‘opportunivore’…and it certainly makes island walks a treat! You never know what you are going to find…:o)!

    • No wonder you are so comfortable here in Yucatan, it’s a lot like your island in that way… It’s a nic to share… If no one wants what we are putting out there… no big deal. The fact that there almost always is a taker keeps us humble, doesn’t it?

  2. I am in a small pueblo working right now, and this reminds me of how many times I feel humbled when I see how people in Mexico who have very little materially manage to hand down, recycle and reuse an item, not just once, but often many times. People who have more sometimes criticize poorer neighborhoods for looking junky. Actually a lot of the stuff sitting in the patio or around the house is very useful material being kept until needed again or accumulated for recycling.

    • This is so true Marc. Western culture is so used to throwing stuff away when they no longer use it or a new model comes along. I guess its OK to consume but someone else can probably use the disgarded item. Another person sent me an email on the topic. She puts reusable items into clear plastic bags so that they won’t get soiled and also so the those who comb the trash bins can see what the item is.

  3. Well, we have another similarity, except my savings, unfortunately, get carried to extremes.(I have trouble throwing these goodies OUT!) You are so right, things can be creatively reused, and it is FUN!

    I wish I wore jewelry, for I might have better luck with the reuse. I keep envisioning sculptures, and “funk-art” pieces, which I don’t have time to construct, nor the space to display.

    You’re right–the mix/match in dinner settings is wonderful! Napkins, dishes, whatever.

    I love your pieces! And it’s so nice that you have a compadre in this effort with Jorge.

Leave a Reply

