Leaving on a Jet Plane

Anyone who has been around me for the past couple of months has heard much about our upcoming trip to Europe. We’ll travel first to Amsterdam where we’ll have tea with my 99 year old aunt and then “something a little stronger” with our great friends Jan and Henk.

From there we’ll be off to Norway and attend our son’s wedding. He and Jeanette will be married at a medieval cathedral in Frederikstad… There will be 12 of us on Carlos’ side of the aisle, and my feeling is that we will carry on more than all the Norwegians on the other one!

My friend Dalila, who is from Chicxulub but lives in Vienna will attend the wedding with her son   Christian, a baritone, who will sing during the ceremony. She and I shake our heads and remember Carlos and Cristian as little boys… Twenty years ago, if someone had told us that one of those little tykes would be singing at the other’s wedding in Norway, we’d have never believed it!

After the wedding, Jeanette and Carlos will be off to Ireland on their honeymoon, and Jorge, Maggie, Ricardo and I will be on a plane to Italy… Rome and Florence are our two main destinations.  I can’t wait!

 Having grown up during the 60s, the song “Leavin’ on a Jet Plane” has been running through my head… for weeks!  In fact, I have re-written the words to match my circumstances. Although the revised version is more-than-a-little-corny… it’s been fun for me to sing!

 

All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go…                                                                                                                     

They’re sitting by my open door
For a month or more, I’ll be gone bye-bye.
Outside, my friend’s car is braking, 

The trunk is open
And Jorge’s  waiting
He’s not forlorn,
We’re both so eager to fly.

So read this and smile for me,
This trip means so much to me,
You know, I cannot wait to go.
‘Cause I’m leaving on a jet plane,
Before too long, I’ll be back again,
Today though, I really want to go

In Norway, Jeanette will walk down –
The church aisle, with flowers ‘round.                                                                                                                                            
Carlos’ smile will plainly show
His dreams for a long life with her
Jorge and I will watch as they

Exchange their gold wedding rings.

Now the time has come to leave you,
I’m logging out, unplugging the cord
When  I’m done here, I’ll be on my way.
And in the traveling days to come
I’ll post if I can, and you can be sure
I’ll include pictures of the wedding day

I’m leaving on a jet plane,
In a month, I’ll be back again,
You know, I am thrilled to go.                                                                                                                                                                 

Photos: The plane is from the KLM website and most of the others are from previous trips to Europe. Carlos and Jeanette dancing was taken at their engagement party in Merida last spring

 

16 Comments

Filed under Family and Friends

16 responses to “Leaving on a Jet Plane

  1. I too enjoyed the song rewrite.

  2. I love your version of the song. Corniness is totally allowed when it’s your child getting married. What a neat family you have. A Canadian married to a Mexican and now your Mexican son is marrying a Norweigan. It’s like a mini UN. 🙂

  3. What an exciting trip! Have a wonderful time.

    • Yes, now if we could just get out of Mexico City… we got bumped off our flight and are on an alternate to Amsterdam via Paris… too gad but it’s beyond our control. All’s well!

  4. ¡Qué les vaya bien! y felicidades a los novios. Be sure to take a sweater, Norway is NOT Mérida in August!

  5. Joanna, I’m sure you’ll both have a great time! AND I love the “Leavin’ On a Jet Plane” re-write! Corny ? I suspect being a bit corny on occasion is a requirement for having FUN! The re-write certainly made me smile! Thanks.

  6. Sounds like a wonderful trip. Enjoy the new and the nostalgic. Be safe.

  7. Allison Morrill

    Enjoy! And please take with you our warmest wishes for Carlos and Jeanette.

    • Thank you Allison… I have been thinking of you… you also have a family wedding coming up soon, don’t you? I hope we’ll have a chance to get together soon and swap happy stories.

  8. Lee

    Happy, and safe, travels! Take lots and lots of pictures!

    • Thanks very much Lee. I hope when I get back there will be the chance to get together and show all those pictures to you… in “someone’s” new house hopefully!

Leave a Reply

