The “C” Day

Wednesday August 9th was what I’ll always refer to as my C day…  I commenced it by coming down with a horrendous cold and cough. Forced to stay pretty close to casa, I did wash the clothes… After a week of traveling, everything in the suitcases was crumpled and crushed, and I felt a great sense of completion at seeing it all crisp and clean once again… Isn’t it curious how the most everyday accomplishments take on Herculean status when one is away from home!                                   

Once the sun had lowered in the sky, I rallied, and we headed off to see the Coliseum, located close by our hotel

The Coliseum was originally called the Flavian Amphitheater and is certainly the largest ever built during the Roman Empire. It is considered by nearly everyone to be the most iconic monument in the city.

Emperor Vespasian began construction in 72 AD and the colossal building was completed in 80 AD under Titus.                                      

50,000 spectators could be seated in the Coliseum at once. The Romans enjoyed such drama as gladiatorial contests, mock sea battles, animal hunts, executions, re-enactments of famous battles, and presentations of plays based on classic mythology. The building ceased to be used for entertainment in the early medieval era. Later it was used as housing, workshops, quarters for a religious order, a fortress and a Christian shrine.

It remains partially in ruins because of damage caused by devastating earthquakes and stone-robbers.

After our outing, I had to return to my cough syrup and aspirin… Very little sleep, I’m afraid… but I am feeling much better after today’s foray to the pharmacy. I’ve got a new, more potent cough syrup and am looking forward to a meal at a restaurant we enjoyed on our last trip to Rome …

Even sick, it is pretty hard not to be enchanted by this city!

Photos: Jorge in front of the Coliseum , a cyprus tree , the Coliseum and Constantine arch , Maggie and Ricardo , a couple of pieces of local real estate

8 Comments

Filed under Family and Friends

8 responses to “The “C” Day

  1. That’s a really good one Ross!

  2. Ross

    Did you take any vitamin “C” for your cold?

    • Ho, ho Ross, that’s a good one! Did either of you catch the virus in Oslo? Jeanette and Carlos, Pepe Beto, Lune and I all have it and Jorge… a milder case.

      • ross

        Yes I got the cold also. It was the worst on Sunday night but I am about over it. It was great to see you all in Norway at the wedding. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

      • I’m sorry! It is a humdinger, isn’t it? Glad to know you’re on the road to recovery…

  3. Yes, Rainee–Clever, and adaptable! (Wish I could find a good “C” word for this, but so far, no. )

    But maybe your body, Joanna, was telling you to Retreat?
    In any event, sure hope you’re feeling better, en “cuanto posible.” (I’m sure that usage is wrong, but I’ll risk it.)

    • You’re absolutely right Alinde… both in your usage and assessment of the situation. Now that the cold is under control, I have nothing to do but enjoy Italy and all its charms…

  4. You are so clever! Get well soon.
    Rainie

Leave a Reply

