Sh-sh-sh…

The Arno River at Sundown

Sh-sh-sh-sh… don’t wake anybody up!  Our friends Colleen and Lance have arrived in Florence after a grueling two day journey from Merida. Heading for the airport at a quarter to four, last Friday morning… they finally got here at 3 am, this Sunday morning. There is of course, a seven hour time difference, but still… it is a l-o-n-g time on the road (or in the sky or wherever)                                                                                                                                                           

Travel is certainly not what it used to be. I worked for an airline during the 1970s, and believe me, we had to do everything in our power to make our passengers feel comfortable, safe and yes… pampered. (Imagine!)

Now, being bumped, delayed, shuffled around, and re-routed are par for the course and anyone who embarks on a long trip should be prepared for whatever.  And don’t even think about being compensated for inconvenience.  The days of complementary meals, hotel rooms, and other bribes are long gone.

This summer, our own odyssey on planes, trains, buses, metros, boats and taxis has been far from easy, but… and all inconvenience aside, the four of us feel lucky to be spending the last days of August in such splendid company!

I haven’t blogged the past couple of days because Jorge and I have been doing lots of sightseeing… This building is the original “Academia”, where Micaelangelo learned to sculpt!

We’ve been to the  shops                                                                                                                                                                                                           

And continue rating the restaurants…

We’ve done some cooking too. I made the famous Tuscan bread soup called “Ribollita”…                                                                                                                          

As well, we now know where one can get Italy’s finest tiramisu and seafood pasta dishes…

The Chiantis of the country have been amply consumed, as have the espressos and cappuccinos. We can also give very informed opinion on the nation’s chocolate and gelato.

We’ve been reading too; my current afternoon treat is Amy Tan’s lyrical “Saving Fish From Drowning.”

To get from one place to another, we take long walks, and so that we can enjoy the sensational evenings, we sleep siestas during the heat of the day.

If a picture paints a thousand words…

11 Comments

Filed under Family and Friends

11 responses to “Sh-sh-sh…

  1. Love the pic of you and Jorge with the river in the background.

  2. That’s a beautiful picture of you and Jorge, that needs to be printed and framed. I’m glad you two are having such a wonderful time.

  3. You must be commended! ANYone who “likes to cook” even on trip to a foreign country, is certainly dedicated. On top of that, you LOOK happy cooking.

    Someday I hope you can add a chapter to your book on this subject, or even a full blog post; for that’s one adaptation with which I’m still struggling .

    Regardless, it’s encouraging to know that some of us transplants do still enjoy cooking. Thanks!

    • It always surprises me that people look at cooking as a chore. To me, the kitchen is a creative place. And when I am in another country, I love to try my skills using the local offerings… Italy is a cornucopia!

      • I guess I gave the wrong impression. Once upon a time, I loved to cook, and I still do, IF it were not for the chore, yes a real chore, of finding the ingredients I’d like. I guess I was spoiled by living in San Francisco, a cook’s “cielo”. There are more factors as well, which have driven my desire to cook underground. I sometimes feel that “the gods” have said, “Alinde, no más.”

      • I have learned to substitute whe I can’t get whatever… sometimes the ingredient that gets pressed into service is better than wthat is called for by the recipe.

  4. Lee

    Lovely photos, but put away the apron! You’re still on vacay!

Leave a Reply

