P.S.

Lots of readers want to know how the Chiles en Nogada turned out today…Here’s one of them!

Jorge is always appreciative when we have a special meal.                                                                                                     

When I tell my sister Barbara about someone I have met, she always asks, “And are they a food person?” By that she means, “Do they like to cook?” My sister is a professional chef and feels that preparing food is an art form. Just as others love to paint, sculpt or write… Barb loves to cook. Her opinion has rubbed off on me.

Kathy K. (who I met in Duncan, B.C.) once said to me, “Preparing a wonderful meal is my way of nurturing those I love.”

And Marlene, a lovely lady who lived in Merida in the 90s  used to say she was honored when her friends cooked for her.

I think these women have got it just right!

We all have busy lives, or at least we think we do, and so cooking becomes a chore rather than a pleasure.

Give yourself a treat soon… Find someone whose company you enjoy, pour a nice glass of wine, play some of Alejandro Fernandez’ lovely Latin love songs, tie on your apron and try making something super for supper!

P.P.S. The Life Long Learning workshops will offer Cooking every Thursday. On March 1st, we’ll be making Chiles en Nogada. You can find more information about all the workshops by clicking here: Life Long Learning 2012

4 Comments

Filed under Family and Friends, Vida Latina

4 responses to “P.S.

  1. Valerie

    Oh Joanna it looks so good much better than the ravioli langosto that we tasted today!
    Chilies en Nogada is one of my favourites Next year I hope to have my own pomigrantes from my new plant!!!! Maybe then you could all come down here and Ill cook for you

  2. Beautiful and luscious looking! Our lights were out from the storm tonight so we drove up to La Reforma and I got chile en nogada para llevar. It was good, but not at beautiful as yours.

    • If you want, you could attend the LLL workshop when we make Chiles en Nogada. It will take place on March 1st; the information and dates for all the workshops are listed on the Life Long Learning page under the header

Leave a Reply

