Yippee!

Why not?

Yesterday, Heather called to talk… we’ve been friends for a long time and never share a quiet moment. We always have so much to say to one another.

She commented that our 40th high school reunion would be held on October 22nd. “Too bad I have so much going on,” I told her. “It won’t be the same without you,” she replied. “Well you tell everyone that I’m a ravishingly beautiful and extremely successful writer, living a wild and crazy life in sultry Yucatan!” “I’ll tell them you haven’t lost your wonderful imagination,” she said, and we both laughed.

Come to think of it, I have never been to a reunion. I wonder what all those people have done with their lives? 40 years…  When I mentioned this to Jorge, he asked, “What is so pressing it can’t hold off a week; why don’t you go?” “Oh I couldn’t…” “Yes, you could…”

The upshot? Yes I can! I struggled with the online booking for more than an hour… called Heather back, called a few other friends as well. And Yippee, I have an unexpected treat in store!

PS: There may still be a few colored maple leaves hanging about!

8 Comments

Filed under Family and Friends

8 responses to “Yippee!

  1. Alice Trueman

    So are you really coming? YEHHHHHH! It’ll be really fun. I went to my school’s 90th – great, it was also the 90th birthday of the headmistress when I was there. It’s the 100th anniversary in 2 years.

    Alice

  2. I agree with Jorge…”why not?” Good for you for going! Can’t wait for your post about it.

  3. What fun! Often the spontaneous trips are as much or more fun than the long planned ones. Good for Jorge!

  4. Larry

    WOW! Never know what a difference a phone call can make, eh? Have a great time reminiscing about long, long ago! Sorry we are going to miss out on seeing you… as we leave the morning of the day that you arrive!
    Larry and Reg

  5. Years ago I heard a talk by a motivational speaker whose main point was always, “And why not?” Sounds like Jorge has the same idea. It’s a great question to ask, frequently, I think.

    Good for you. I am sure you will have a great time…and you’ll be refreshed and ready for the Blogger’s Conference!

Leave a Reply

