Vancouver Actually

Up at 2:00 am in Cancun, I joined a large group of passengers waiting outside Terminal III at the airport. Something seemed to be wrong with the sistema… we stood in front of the big glass doors, and after half an hour we formed a new line… inside. The American Airlines staff had to check us in manually which took a l-o-n-g time. But eventually we got on our way and arrived into Miami on time.

From there on, it was more of the same… my day involved lots and lots of waiting. I brought my sketch pad, and so I passed the time drawing… the bar at the Cancun airport… a Frida-inspired allegory, and finally… a copy of a portrait of some woman from the in-flight magazine. I enjoy drawing when I’m traveling; it passes the time, and it’s a good way to meet people. They wander over to see what I’m doing and we chat a moment…

I had very interesting company on both the Miami – Dallas flight, and from Dallas – Vancouver. It’s funny how you get talking on planes sometimes, and have quite long, engrossing conversations…  My two seat companions made my journey go by much more quickly and pleasantly.

Have you seen the movie, “Love Actually”? Well, last night YVR could have been called “Vancouver Actually. ” It looked like the scene where all the people are re-united at the airport, and they’re laughing, hugging, crying… I walked beside a young Indian woman who told me   “I haven’t seen my family for a year and half.”  She and her baby were engulfed by at least 20 extremely happy family members who waited for her just past the gate. A sexy young Latina threw her arms around a guy just ahead of me; and the Italian family who were on my flight from Dallas was also met by a whole contingent of loved ones.

And there stood my friend Mary. We held out our arms and joined the happy group with our own big rocking-back-and-forth hugs. It feels wonderful to be here!

6 Comments

Filed under Family and Friends

6 responses to “Vancouver Actually

  1. You might enjoy the link below regarding the new Barbie. They’ve given her pink hair, and tattoos. You’re already half way there. Go with the trend! ~eric.

    http://newsfeed.time.com/2011/10/21/new-barbie-has-pink-hair-and-tattoos-and-some-parents-arent-happy/

  2. norm

    I’m picking up my buds at the airport this afternoon, we have a football weekend going down. Eight guys in a seven seat van-someone has to sit in cargo…

  3. debi

    and just how does Mary feel about your rosy tresses?

Leave a Reply

