If this is Thursday… this must be Mérida

A week ago, Wednesday… I boarded the bus to Cancun, saw my friend Joanne for dinner and called it an early night… no Coco Bongo, you can be sure! Next morning at 3:00 am, I headed for the airport, flew through Miami and Dallas, then into Vancouver. The ensuing 120 hours of wining and dining at some great restaurants, attending my 40th high school reunion, shopping to the point of dropping, and chat-chat-chatting with friends, sisters and my 94 year old uncle went by so fast…

I figured that I’d have one final day to relax, make phone calls, eat a famous White Spot hamburger and pack, but on Tuesday night the airline called to say my Thursday flight from Dallas to Cancun would be cancelled… at the time, Hurricane Rina looked as though it would be a major storm.  I was told I had to leave the next morning!

Rush, rush, rush! Speed packing and only enough time for a couple of quick phone calls… somehow with my friend Mary’s help, I got ready and she had me at YVR in time for the crack of dawn departure. An uneventful but very l-o-n-g day in the air and on the ground ended with Jorge picking me up at 1:30 am at the Fiesta Americana bus depot.

There have been times in my life when I have felt like I am “running on empty” but the way I’m dragging around today goes so beyond that… I am exhausted!  And yet my mind is still full of wonderful memories of the whirlwind visit.

Vancouver in the fall cannot be compared. The colors of the maples, the fading glory of the summer flowers, the nip in the air, and the smell of winter lurking just beyond the mountains… I took a lot of photos and will share a few with you today, and then it’s back to bed, to rest up…

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

7 Comments

Filed under Family and Friends

7 responses to “If this is Thursday… this must be Mérida

  1. So happy you are home safe and had a wonderful time.

  2. Welcome home!

    Is that fountain from Butchart Gardens? Hubby and I went there on our honeymoon and it’s stunning. I’d love to go back again.

  3. “Running on empty” is so understandable–but it certainly could have been worse, for so many other people as well. Welcome Back! Rest well!

    • Yes, I should have said that I’m so grateful that the hurricane downgraded. It would have been awful to deal with major rebuilding… on top of everything else. Thanks for your comment Alinde.

    • Yes, I should have said that I’m so grateful that the hurricane downgraded. It would have been awful to deal with major rebuilding… on top of everything else. Thanks for your comment Alinde.

Leave a Reply

