6 responses to “More than meets the eye…

  1. I am awed by the strength of so many women here. I am also angry that so much is expected and so little returned. It’s easy though to judge from my privileged life with an education, resources, work, and the choices I received. I’ve learned not to express my anger at the abuses when listening to the stories, it doesn’t help and it can sound like I am being judgmental about their acceptance of how things are, choice is a luxury. Steadiness and strength and putting one foot in front of the other endlessly, those are attributes that have kept many women going when I would probably have given up. There is always something t be learned from others who have lived a different life, it’s sometimes difficult to hear but it is valuable.

    • Jonna, I too have seen much and I have learned to evaluate them within the context of the culture. But there are many aspects of women’s roles in the society that North Americans (myself included) find extremely difficult to accept, Others are difficult for us to recognize as sources of strength. So often your replies make me want to call you up and converse about the topic all day long. Your opinions are well balanced, insightful and measured.

  2. The “why” not as much traffic to these empathetic descriptions is, I believe, very complicated. I’d begin with Leon Festinger’s “Theory of Cognitive Dissonance.” (Sorry, y “Google” it to find out more.) In a nutshell, IF I recall it correctly from Social Psych, I’d put it this way: People tend to match their thoughts with their behavior. If the behavior, such as “I live here and I’m not leaving”, is rather fixed, then the thought patterns will tend to conform to this static fact–in an effort to reduce the thought “dissonances.”

    Obviously, this is a complicated subject. I suggest, however, that the subject of why there is more/less interest in such supportive relationships could come down to one’s commitment to living here–for whatever reasons–finances, age, marital status and a whole lot more.

    I’ve NOT studied Social Psychology for many a year; so this may be wrong as well. I am sure, however, that there is no easy answer.

    • I have never studied social psychology but I believe I have had some practical lessons along the way. I am not advocating that everyone must embrace this culture in the same way, but there is an opportunity to have new experiences that I believe are valuable on many levels

  3. Thanks for sharing the story of an amazing woman and her role in two families. Strange to learn that blogs get fewer readers for stories of social disparity and the lives of the people whose country we have come to live in. Probably the most rewarding and most moving experiences I have here are meeting and getting to know local Yucatecans and Mérida residents.

    • I agree with you Debbie. Getting to know the people who make up this culture is very rewarding. But I think that many international residents find it difficult to approach people whose life are extremely different from their own. I hope this post helps to give some of them the supportive nudge they need.

Leave a Reply

