WOW!

WOW! It is December 23rd. Hard to believe that just a week ago, Jorge and I were immersed in the final countdown for Maggie and Ricardo’s marriage. And what a magical evening it was…

We worked towards the wedding for 18 months… Maggie and I kept giant binders to organize all the ideas, print-outs from many websites and cuttings from magazines… business cards, appointment reminders, quotes, fabric swatches, plans, receipts, etc… They’re filed away now, but maybe someone else will be able to use the information one day? ‘Need a great florist, caterer, music, a hacienda or wedding planner… whatever, just ask me!

The ceremony and reception exceeded all our expectations. Maggie looked gorgeous and Ricardo, so handsome. But best of all were the radiant smiles on their faces… Both were absolutely thrilled with one another and with everything around them.

I think the nuptial Mass held outside on the stone steps of the hacienda’s chapel was made even more meaningful by the exquisite string quartet and the voice of Christian Koestal. As long as I live, I’ll remember Ave Maria swirling through the night air.

The party that followed was the best!  Under six huge white tents… the band’s enthusiasm, the  caterer’s excellent food and ever-flowing beverages, the waiters’ attentions, the soft lighting and the balmy temperatures combined to create an ambiance that was all we could have hoped for. Our friends and family who attended seemed ecstatic. Seventy of those loved ones had traveled a very long way to be with us. Their presence made the occasion even more wonderful.

After dancing, drinking, eating and laughing the night away, we rolled home at 6:30 am, slept a couple of hours… and then roused the newlyweds who headed off on their honeymoon to San Francisco. Since then, we proud parents have been in “recuperation mode.” We had not realized how tired we’d be…

And now Christmas is right around the corner – although we’ve just been through the excitement of the wedding, I am looking forward to my favorite holiday. Tomorrow my sister Barb and cousin Donna will be at the house and we’ll cook up a storm … Mass at 9pm will be followed by a midnight supper at my brother & sister-in-law’s home. After opening the gifts that are waiting under the tree, we’ll have a BIG crowd for dinner on the night of the 25th.

Reflecting on this past year, I have to admit that our world is not at its best right now, but amongst the turmoil we read about in the headlines, and the depressing statistics, I know there are many people helping out where and when they can. I choose to maintain an optimistic attitude and act in constructive ways. I take joy in the many large and small blessings I have.

I hope that this Holiday season is the culmination of a mostly-positive year for you all, and that 2012 will bring you much to be grateful for.

*** I hope you’ll enjoy the photos, starting with us all getting ready… arriving at the hacienda… the wedding and a few of the party. They were taken by my son Carlos and friend, Eduardo

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

17 Comments

Filed under Family and Friends, Vida Latina

17 responses to “WOW!

  1. Coralynn Buss

    Could PLEASE recommend a good florist in Merida? I can’t find any english speaking ones! Thanl-you!

  2. Ross

    It was a lovely wedding and a great party. We had a great time although we left “early” at 3:30 a.m. It was a great way to start the holidays.

  3. Wasn’t that a party, Joanna!!! The photos are wonderful memories for everyone of just how special that evening was for EVERYONE who was there dancing into the early morning hours. This was THE BEST wedding we have ever been privileged to attend and that I did not have to plan or pay for…LOL…remember I had TWO daughters…..another LOL.

    Feliz Ano Prospero a ti y Jorge dear friends!

  4. Joanna–I most certainly concur–great pictorial! Let me add another nice coincidence. This morning I picked up yesterday’s Diario de Yucatan, which I’d not had time to read, (yesterday.) I never even bother with the Social section, since I figure I’ll know no one anyhow. But the front page caught my eye–it really was Maggie, Ricardo and all of you–la boda. Lots of fun.

    If you missed it, here it is: http://www.yucatan.com.mx/sociales/20111225/boda-202/214973-la-boda-de-ricardo-castillo-mendoza-y-ana-margarita-rosado-van-der-gracht.htm

    Alinde

  5. Jade Soon

    Unbelievable! The wedding looked so magical! And you and Maggie looked stunning!
    Jorge and the handsome groom looked radiant as well…wish I could have joined you on such a happy occasion!

    Have a very Merry Christmas and let’s hope 2012 brings a brighter new year!
    Love and best wishes to all of you!

    xJade:)

  6. Nancy Walters

    Not a dry eye here at my computer. Thanks for the wonderful photos of the wedding I said nothing would keep me from. Well it just goes to show you never make that statement.
    It was all so beautiful. Thanks for sharing…

  7. Lee

    I’ve been waiting for these photos, and finally here they are! It looks like you struck the perfect balance of beauty, formality and fun! You could charge a pretty penny to be a wedding planner, in case you’re looking for another career : )

  8. Roseanne Oliver

    What a wonderful slide show. I felt if I were there at the wedding, seeing all the color and loveliness.
    My but the mother of the bride looked glamorous.
    Best wishes for the New Year to everyone

    Anne Oliver

    • Yes, well… the makeup and hair were not my usual style but it was fun getting all dressed up

      • Thanks for the compliment Lee… Maggie and Ricardo’s wedding was magical but it was planned by many of us – no way could one person have taken care of all the details and stayed sane. That’s why it was so much fun; everyone helped out. And speaking of wedding planners… ours was wonderful and I would recommend her to anyone who asks. I’m glad you like the pictures.

  9. louise

    Joanna,
    I read your blog every day and am so happy that I feel I can share in these happy moments! everyone looks so beautiful and happy! As a fellow Canadian, slightly cold at the moment – the weather is not the usual December, I cant wait to be in Merida in January.
    Congratulations on another addition to your family and an awesome party!
    Louise

Leave a Reply

