Joanna and her sisters

Joanna and her sisters

One of the luckiest things about my life is that I have three sisters. A – B – C: Anne, Barbara, and Cathy. They are all close in age, but I am five, seven and nine years older than them. During childhood, that made quite a difference.

We have four brothers too, but they pretty much did their own thing. What I remember most about them is that they were very physically active and ate like horses.

I helped Mom look after the “little girls” and I know that while we were            growing up, they were somewhat intimidated by me, but now we don’t feel any gulf of years. We will all be in our fifties this summer… (one entering, two wading through, and one hanging on by the toenails! ) We are all married… we each have children of our own.

Sisterhood is a unique bond. One of us is having an operation today, and another has one pending… I wish I lived closer so that I could make chicken soup…

When they graduated from high school, each of my sisters spent time with Jorge and I in Merida. They all enjoy the weather, the food, and other wonderful attractions of Mexico.

Mom always urged us to dance, carry on and have fun! Our childhood vacations were spent by the water: swimming, boating, beachcombing. To please our mother, we all took dancing lessons, joined Brownies, took a whack a field hockey, sewing and playing Bridge… with varying degrees of aptitude.

We four don’t always agree with one another’s choices, but each of us knows the others are “on call”… if needed we’ll be there in a heartbeat.

Later this week we will mark our mother’s passing… I still miss her every day and I know my sisters do too. We all have   her round eyes and pointed chin… and the same penchant for sweets. Mom could swim like an otter, and she taught us to do so too.

On the fourth of February, I’ll put fresh flowers in Mom’s dark red crystal vase and place it on my dining room table. I’ll bake an apple pie, brew a pot of Earl Grey and drink from one of her Chelsea Bird tea cups… with lots of milk and a spoon full of sugar – the way Mom served it when we were young.

If there’s a Heaven, Mom is there and she’ll surely join me and toast: To Joanna and her sisters!

4 Comments

Filed under Family and Friends

4 responses to “Joanna and her sisters

  1. What a wonderful family you have. EIGHT altogether! WOW. And I am lucky enough to have seen your beautiful Chelsea Bird set which you will use to drink your Earl Grey tea and eat apple pie. I wonder how many of your blog readers know about my mayan village rental – a unique opportunity to stay in a mayan village, close to the cenotes of Cuzama? I should love to invite you to come out one day, and visit. I am sure you would love it. Saludos, Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

