The Elections in Mexico 2012

Mexico’s federal election campaign will officially begin at the end of March. The election will be held on July 1, 2012

The media will be giving “blow by blow” reports about the party candidates’ policies and activities… The presidential term in Mexico is 6 years and under the Constitution, no re-election is possible.

For those who are not familiar with Mexican politics, I have compiled short bios of the three major parties:

El PRI: (El Partido Revolucionario Institucional – Institutional Revolutionary Party )

Presidential Candidate:  Enrique Peña Nieto

This party held the presidency in Mexico for the longest period of time 1929 – 2000. (There is often confusion about this because the party wasn’t always called the PRI, the earlier name was Partido Nacional Revolucionario or PNR) The party describes itself as Social Democratic. From 1929 to 1982, the PRI won every presidential election by well over 70 percent of the vote—margins that many believe were obtained by massive electoral fraud. The PRI’s dominance was near-absolute at all other levels as well. It held an overwhelming majority in the Chamber of Deputies (Camara de Diputados) as well as every seat in the Senate (Senado) and every state governorship. Although the PRI is labeled as the party that spread corruption through the system, it should also be remembered that under this party’s leadership, much of Mexico’s modernization occurred. The party was finally ousted in 2000 by the PAN.

El PAN: (Partido Acción Nacional – National Action Party)

Presidential Candidate:  Josefina Vazquez Mota

This party has held the presidency since 2000. It is right wing and traditionally known for its affiliation to big business and the church. The PAN was founded on September 17, 1939, after the Cristero insurgency was forced by the Mexican bishops to abandon the Cristero War. They were looking for a peaceful way to bring about change in the country and to achieve political representation, after the years of chaos and violence that followed the Mexican Revolution.

El PRD: (Partido de la Revolución Democratica – Democratic Revolutionary Party)

Presidential Candidate: Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador

In 1986 Cuauhtémoc Cárdenas (former Governor of Michoacán and son of the much-loved former president of Mexico Lázaro Cárdenas) formed the Corriente Democrática – Democratic Current of the PRI, which criticized the federal government for reducing spending on social programs to increase payments on foreign debt. The members of the Democratic Current were expelled from the PRI and formed the Frente Democrático – National Democratic Front in 1987. Later named the PRD, the party decided on Cárdenas as presidential candidate for the 1988 presidential election which was won by Carlos Salinas de Gortari. There were allegations of electoral fraud in 1988, and the same accusation was leveled when the PAN candidate Felipe Calderon was declared the winner over Lopez Obrador in 2006.

On February 20th, polling of 1,000 eligible voters showed that the PRI candidate Enrique Peña Nieto stands at 48 percent, followed by the PAN candidate Josefina Vazquez Mota, candidate at 32 percent, and PRD candidate Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador, at 20 percent.

It will be interesting how these figures wax and wane in the coming months.



Filed under Vida Latina

10 responses to “The Elections in Mexico 2012

  1. Jan Morgan

    Very interesting! Thanks!

  2. Whether the GEA-ISA polls are accurate or not seems to be an issue in dispute… but then, everything about Mexican elections is fodder for disputes. Especially the results 🙂

  3. Many thanks for clearing up my personal confusion and that of many of us!

  4. Tonia Kimsey

    Thank you,Joanna, Most interesting. Tonia

  5. The Feb. 29 GEA-ISA poll results shows that the race is tightening:

    PRI – Enrique Peña Nieto: 36%
    PAN – Josefina Vázquez Mota: 29%
    PRD – Andrés Manuel López Obrador: 17%

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s