Update on the visit with the doctor

Jorge is well on the way to renewed health. The doctor said he could live “vida normal.” He’s still on antibiotics but no longer contagious.

He is however getting pretty frustrated with his low energy level. People like him who are used to coming and going at will don’t deal too well with 10 days of inactivity. But I have faith that my sweet husband will soon be back among us… Enough said

I have a lung infection and am on a new antibiotic. I am still contagious and so cannot get out and about at all. The doc says, “Stay in bed…lots of fluids… take the meds…” which isn’t too much of a stretch because I too have very low energy. But again, I have faith that I’ll rally soon.

I’m frustrated to be missing out on my usual activities: hanging out with my daughter, writers’ group, seeing my friends, concerts, and entertaining visitors from San Miguel Allende… I even miss running errands!

When you are feeling well, you don’t even think about your health, but when you get hit with something like this bug I have… you realize what a blessing it is to wake up and feel ready to take on the day…

Blogging about my woes is a drag and I can’t imagine it is any fun to read either… so I’ll bid you Adios until I have something more interesting to write about.

Again, thanks to Google Images for the visuals

5 Comments

Filed under Vida Latina

5 responses to “Update on the visit with the doctor

  1. Joanna, I’m sorry to hear that you are both so sick. Take the doctor’s advice and feel better soon.

    Alan and I are looking forward to our trip to Mérida in three weeks. We haven’t been back since the Blogger’s Conference in November. Too long.

    Best wishes for a speedy recovery.
    John & Alan

  2. I recently had difficult bronchitis and my doctor prescribed antibiotics, steroids and an inhaler to help with the coughing. He said there’s something going around that doesn’t respond quickly to the antibiotics alone, but does improve quicker with prednisone (I know, I hate to take that stuff too) because it helps open the passageways. He said that some people are going through several courses of antibiotics without improving but with the steriods, one course is enough. I know, I know, this is all “medical hearsay.”

    After a week with rattly breathing and other strange noises, I was much better. The inhaler was something I’m not familiar with, but I think it was a type of cortisteroid which really helped reduce the painful coughing. Just passing this on in case you may wish to ask your MD about it.

    Don’t go out and buy stuff on your own. 😉

    Best wishes for a quick recovery!

  3. sharron mcgrath

    Hi Joanna:
    Heard at the TT Ball on Sunday that you are very sick and Jorge is too. I am so sorry you both are having this problem and all you can do is wait it by getting lots of rest til it moves on
    Sharron McGrath.

Leave a Reply

