Bob Dylan in Mexico City

I hope you’re in a comfy spot… link to this Bob Dylan song

Put on your earphones… and enjoy the music…

***

This ballad will always be special to me…

I heard it for the first time while waiting for a train in Cuzco, Peru:
Lay, lady, lay, lay across my big brass bed

I was way too young to be so far from home.

The strumming guitar and the sensuous lyrics

seemed like the most soothing sounds I’d ever heard…

Whatever colors you have in your mind

I’ll show them to you and you’ll see them shine

A dude sat down next to me.

He showed me the ultimate technology – a cassette player,

and he offered to let me hear the whole Nashville Skyline recording.

I fell totally in love – but with the song, not the dude.

Unfortunately the man and the music came as a package deal.

So I had to take to pass.

Lay Lady Lay, Lay across my big brass bed

***

Six weeks later, in a chic outdoor café on Buenos Aires’ Calle Florida,

A charming Porteño lowered his eyes, then looked up at me

and I heard it again – that song!

Stay, lady, stay, stay with your man awhile
Until the break of day, let me see you make him smile

***

Most tempting,

but I spotted a faint white line around the fourth finger of his left hand,

and my delicious desire dissipated.

***

A few years later, in another lovely Latin city…

An intoxicating Meridano and I had begun dancing around one another…

It all fell into place when I heard:

Why wait any longer for the one you love

When he’s standing in front of you

***

I’ve spent the ensuing 36 years in that man’s fine company

Stay, lady, stay, stay while the night is still ahead

***

Bob Dylan’s lyrics are like pearls on a linen thread,

and tomorrow, May 12th,  I’ll fly to Mexico City

to hear him sing them live… for the first time in my life.

***

I hope my favourite will be on the play list

But even if it isn’t, I’ll be hearing

Lay, lady, lay, lay across my big brass bed

***

9 Comments

Filed under Destinations

9 responses to “Bob Dylan in Mexico City

  1. So…
    Tell me, how does it feel…

  2. I can just imagine all the energy at the concert! It’s going to be intoxicating!! Dance, sing and enjoy!!! I was a Bob Dylan fan in college….

  3. Nancy Walters

    Buen viaje! Vaya con Dios y disfrute bien.

  4. Pingback: Bob Dylan in Mexico City | WRITING FROM MERIDA | Mexico Discovery

Leave a Reply

