What kind of bread?

Usually culinary efforts that make it into the public eye are perfect or darn near so. Today I am going to give you a wonderful recipe for _ _ _ _ bread, but believe me, the results were not perfect.

My sister Barb, who is a chef gave me her “fail proof” formula, and my daughter Maggie, a young but talented baker was on hand to share the experience.

_ _ _ _ Bread

Attach the bread hook to your mixer, put the bowl in place and add 2 cups of luke warm water. Sprinkle 1 Tbsp. of active dry yeast on top and let it stand for 10 minutes.

(This was easy…)

Add ¼ cup of olive oil, ½ Tbsp. of salt and 4 cups of flour.  Turn on the mixer and let it run until the mixture starts sticking to the side of the bowl.

(Boy did it ever stick!)

Then add more flour, 1 Tbsp. at a time, until the mixture comes away from the sides.

(We ended up using an additional cup of flour)

Continue to let the dough kneed for 8 minutes.

(I don’t know what you do if you don’t have a strong mixer)

Remove the bread hook, cover the bowl of dough with plastic wrap and let it rise for 1 hour.

(At this point we took Nacho (Maggie’s dog) for a walk)

Now get the oven really hot (450 F) and place the rack on the lowest position.  Place a baking sheet on the rack to get it hot before you put the breads on it..

Shape the  breads.  Leave them on the counter for 10 minutes. Roll out as thin as possible, 6 – 8 inches in diameter and place them on the hot baking sheet. Bake for just 3 minutes

(Now… that doesn’t sound too hard does it? The problem was that our dough came out too sticky. We had to coat our hands in flour to even get “blobs.” No way could you roll them out, so we stretched them out as best we could. We then flopped the oddly-shaped breads onto to hot baking sheet… I managed to burn my arm a couple of times)

Repeat until all are baked. They will puff up

(Puff up? Ha, ha, ha…)

What kind of bread were we trying to make? Well, pita of course

 (Can’t you tell?)

Now, when you attempt this at home, let me know if you got the “Shape the breads” part a little better than we did

Nacho liked them!

14 Comments

Filed under Family and Friends

14 responses to “What kind of bread?

  1. Jan

    Actually I loved the photo…so ‘Jabba the Hut’ from Star Wars…yes, I guess it is all about the rising…meh…hugs from my end of the pond…Jan

  2. So Nacho (cute name!) likes Pita bread. He’s not alone.
    Although I’m not a baker, that’s quite entertaining, Joanna.

  3. LOL, I have found that some days the amount of flour that I have to add is amazing due to the humidity.At that point I make drop biscuits or very artistic looking loaves.

    Also the moisture content of your flour makes a difference and the gluten content. You can add a dough conditioner to the flour to help with the lack of gluten,they sell some at the reposteria and a the Gran Aki on C59. Or see if you can buy harina fuerte which is higher in protein and therefore gluten. Am I complicating things for you?

    Professional bakers bake by weight rather than by volume. Here is a common ingredients weight chart http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes2008/master-weight-chart.html
    anyway you need a little more than half a kilo of flour for your recipe if I did the math correctly.

    Baking really is a winter activity here. I’ll help you if you want, I am not a great baker because Husband and Mijo are, so I never needed to be.
    regards,
    Theresa

    • WOW! Thanks Theresa. I like baking but rarely make anything because I will eat it all up. But yes, Maggie and I would love some help learning how to use yeast. We’ll set a date.

  4. Katrina

    When I saw it first, it looked like something from an old movie.I saw on Turner Classic Movies recently “The Green Slime from Outer Space”…remarkable resemblance apart from the colour…had to laugh when I found out what it was. Good luck with the next batch!!!!!!
    (I enjoy watching really BAD space and monster movies from the 50’s)

  5. Deanna Lagroix

    Oh, Joanna and Maggie, thanks for sharing your efforts with us!! My Aunt made wonderful bread and buns and my efforts never “rose to the occasion”. Come on up north and try the recipe again on a less humid day!!

  6. I think they look lovely! And the odd shapes just add interest. The need for the extra flour is our humidity. If you bake in arid climes you add less in humid more flour.

    So you’ve completed your cleanse??? Ready to go to lunch??????

Leave a Reply

