Back in San Miguel Allende

Here I am in lovely San Miguel Allende. The Writers’ Conference I am attending here is being called, “The Little Conference That Could” From the baby steps of 7 years ago, the event has hit full stride, and grown into a major annual gathering for writers of all genres and levels of expertise.

Last night’s keynote by Canadian author Margaret Atwood drew 800 attendees. The workshops, breakout sessions, and social activities have been expertly organized by Susan Page and her volunteer team. The conference theme is “Cultural Crossroads of the Americas” And it certainly is well-deserving of the moniker; tomorrow, we will have the great privilege of hearing from Elena Poniatowska.                                            

Anyway… I have to run! I have another workshop to attend

 

Photos: Yes the Cathedral really is pink! Yours truly with Patrice Wynn from Abrazos Boutique

2 Comments

Filed under Vida Latina, Writing

2 responses to “Back in San Miguel Allende

  1. I look forward to hearing more about the conference. I’d planned, after you encouraged me, to attend this year, but family obligations conflict this time. I’ll have to enjoy vicariously.

    • Yes Marc, this is a wonderful conference. I just heard Naomi Wolff speak on Advocacy Writing… very powerful. If you like we could get together when I get back and we can talk about what I learned here. Once you’ve heard, you’ll be signing up for next year

Leave a Reply

