A Day In The Life…

The Mexican elections are over, except for the mumbling, rumbling, and grumbling…

Although my candidate did not win the presidency, let’s hope it will all turn out for the best.

I accept the outcome but I can’t help feeling the need to express a little angst…

On You Tube, I found this instrumental track of “A Day in the Life”  ( ©1967 Lennon & McCartney )

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IUw4jjVzVDY

I’ve written my own  (tongue in cheek) lyrics:

I heard the news today, oh boy
About a handsome man who made the grade
And though the spin was rather sad
Well I just had to sigh…
It’s better not to cry…

He won the race, he did do that
If it was fair or not, is not the case
The crowd of people stood and cheered
A smile lit up his face…

***
I saw another face , oh boy
Of the man… who lost the chase
The crowd of people turned away
But I just have to pray-ay-ay
That he’ll be back one day-ay-ay

To  turn us – on-n-n-n-n-n

(Lots of psychedelic sound … after all this song is from the Sargeant Pepper album)  Boom – boom – boom… ringing… piano… boom –  boom –  boom –  instrumental – surging melody –  honky-tonk –  surging melody –  ay-ay-ay-.ay-ay-ay – ah-ah-ah-ah strings…

And now there’s talk today oh boy
Of ballots lost, far from here …
The numbers are rather small
But they better count them all …
They – know –  howmany votes – it takes – to keep the ball.

They need to – turn-urn-urn-urn us – on-n-n-n-n-n
(Lots more psychedelic sound…  boom – boom – boom… ringing… piano… boom-boom-boom instrumental – surging… duh-h-h-h-h)

… Even if you don’t share my views I hope you have fun with the music!

Onward and Upward!

4 Comments

Filed under Commentary

4 responses to “A Day In The Life…

  1. That sure is fun, Joanna–even for me, who is unfamiliar with that particular Beatles number.

    And it’s nice to see you blog again. Thanks,

    Alinde

  2. Gringomac

    Happy Canada Day, Eh!

Leave a comment