Happy New Year!

The end of a year and the end of the first decade of the 21st Century! All endings mean beginnings are at hand.

I tend to get a little philosophical on December 31st… so here you have some of my thoughts.  In no way do I presume to have any original ones… this is just a collection of ramblings. Why  does this read like the Alphabet? Well…  I’ve received lots of comments about the second section of my book MAGIC MADE IN MEXICO. It follows the same format and readers seem to like it… so, why not?

I wish you all a very Happy and Prosperous New Year!

 

 

 

A is for AGE: Many of us do not like to see it creeping up but I agree with Mark Twain who said,” Age is an issue of mind over matter. If you don’t mind, it doesn’t matter.”

B is for BALANCE: This is a constant challenge but one worth the effort because on the days when we strike it… life is good.

C is for CARLOS: My wonderful creative son…  www.carlosrosado.com                                                                                                                                                  

D is for DIET: Hopefully this D word and I will be able to stick together a bit more!

E is for EXERCISE: What I said about D is applicable to E too!

F is for FAMILY & FRIENDS: It’s nice if the first is our greatest treasure but if not, hopefully the second fills the gap. Many say, “My friends are the family I have chosen.”

G is for GENEROSITY: The more you give, the more you get back…

H is for HAPPINESS: We search the planet for this only to find it extremely close by… inside each one of us.

I is for INSIGHT: I love this…Paul Gauguin said, “I shut my eyes in order to see.”

J is for JORGE: My husband who is “mi amor, mi cómplice en todo”…

K is for KNOWLEDGE: The pursuit of this gives purpose to life. We never stop learning

L is for LOVE: Nowhere have I seen a better definition of “the greatest virtue” than in:1 Corinthians 13.                                       “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”

M is for MAGGIE: The daughter I am blessed with…                                                                                                                                 

N is for NICE: An old fashioned concept? Maybe… but I think life’s easier on everyone when we try to be…

O is for OPEN: Open-minded, open-spirited… almost all openness is a good thing

P is for POOL: As in swimming pool… this is one of my greatest pleasures

Q is for QUALITY OF LIFE: This what we all want… recognizing when we have it is the crux of the matter.

R is for RETIREMENT: Not what it once was, is it? This time in life is a gift. It gives us the opportunity to do what we couldn’t do when we were too busy working!

S is for SECURITY: A much sought after state… again, much of this is in our minds.  I read this on the Ernest Gaines Quotation site, “Why is it that, as a culture, we are more comfortable seeing two men holding guns than holding hands?

T is for TIME: What we all want more of… sigh…

U is for USEFUL:  To feel we are useful is one of life’s most basic requirements.

V is for VERBS: As a writer I’d like to know approximately how many exist in the English language. I’ve looked all over the Net and not found the answer… can you?

W is for WEDDINGS: There will be TWO in our family this year!

X is for XEROX: Not many other words begin with this letter. And I am, supremely grateful for this x-cellent technology… I well remember when it didn’t exist.

Y is for YUCATAN: Not a plethora of words start with Y either, but I give thanks every day, because the name of the place where I live is as unique as its first letter.

Z is for ZOO: Peter De Vries said, “Life is a zoo in the jungle.” Think about it…

  • Many of the quotes I used in this posting are from www.thinkexist.com  – a great resource, I think
11 Comments

Filed under Family and Friends, Vida Latina, Writing

11 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. Happy New Year Joanna. I’m enjoying your posts…especially todays. May 2011 be a wonderful year for you and yours. Lets get together after the 15th…when things wind down a bit.
    Hugs,
    Judy

  2. Joanna, Your question, “V is for VERBS: As a writer I’d like to know approximately how many exist in the English language. I’ve looked all over the Net and not found the answer… can you?” tickled me, so while waiting for some serious computer maintenance to complete (the most boring—and time consuming—part of depending on computers for one’s livelihood), I did some searching around.

    A guy—Alex Rudnick—who is a pretty serious student/scientist of languages, vis-à-vis computer systems had this same question back in 2002 and couldn’t find the answer, so he went through the dictionary word by word and developed his own list which had 9,117 verbs (both regular and irregular) on it. He posted it on the Internet at the time, but in the ensuing 8 years has gone on to bigger (and more important—darn technical ones too!) projects and the website where it was posted was allowed to die. English being what it is, there have probably been several hundred more coined in that 8 years, as English just grows, and grows, and grows without limit!

    • Hey David – thank you! For those readers who do not know, David is the my editor. He and I worked long and hard to prepare Magic Made in Mexico for publishing and I should have known he’d be the one to answer the verb question. Happy New Year to everyone at Editorial Mazatlan.

  3. John in Virginia

    My partner and I are enjoying your new book. Very helpful for our visit to Merida in 2 weeks. Had 14 inches of snow last weekend. Warm, sunny weather will be heaven!

    • Thank you John. I’m so glad you’re enjoying the book! During the time you’ll be in town, I will be giving a presentation on “Magic Made in Mexico” at the Merida English Language Library. If you’d like to attend, you can contact them to reserve a spot as seating is limited.

  4. Great post, Joanna. Happy New Year to you, Jorge and all your family.

  5. Larry

    Thank you again for the a wonderful post. Our lives are enriched immensely by thoughtful, loving, caring, grateful, meaningful acts and gestures both when we give and receive.
    I wish everyone prosperity in every sense, including peace, joy, love, economic, relationships, etc for 2011 and every year after.

    Larry

  6. Thanks, Joanna, for your thoughtful blog and all of the things you did for others this year. Happy New Year. I hope to get to know you better in 2011.

Leave a Reply

